Marisa Caichiolo – Artistic Statement

Marisa Caichiolo

I conducted an interview with the artist Marisa Caichiolo, currently based in California and I want to share it with you today so that you can learn more about her:

ThetaGallery : How did you decide to start a career as an artist ?

Marisa : I started to paint when I was little, I was  around 8 years old and since then I never stopped. Actually the art world is my life. To produce, to create, to connect, to speak, to have my own language through art  is my life. It Is my way of living, it makes me happy, it makes me feel alive….
ThetaGallery : You have done some projects of body painting too. Can you tell us more about this project?

Marisa : I did several projects with Body Paint during all this years. My first experience was  in my old town in Rufino, Argentina when I was 20 years old. I remember that I painted 10 models and we did a very big performance, it was a whole new experience for the audience. And since then once in a while I love to reconnect with this side. My latest project was a small body paint that I did for the cover of the Argentinean Film Festival in Los Angeles. I did it  twice for them.

Also in 2005 I participated to the FIAC Festival – Cervantino of Contemporary Art in Mexico with one of my project “frogs”: it worked asan exhibition and a workshop where all the participants went naked and experienced both sides ascreator and model. This was at the Arts Center in Leon Guanajuato.

ThetaGallery : In all your exhibitions, you seem to pay a lot of attention to the setting of your art works. How important is this for you?

Marisa : For me the artwork installation is one of the most important part of any exhibition, because the viewer needs a space to connect with the art pieces and at the same time each artwork needs to be alone, breathing. In that way the viewer creates a dialogue with the pieces and speaks  the same language as the  artist.

In my personal case when I create an installation I need to show it exactly the way it was pictured in my head, so I really pay a lot of attention to the way I exhibit my work and the way that people can interact with it.

ThetaGallery : What are you ongoing projects/exhibition ?

Marisa : My ongoing project is a combination of my oldest series ‘Sacred Dresses’ and ‘Secret Constructions’. I am working on getting ready for two solo exhibitions, one in Argentina and another in Mexico in 2012-2013. The body of work about sacred dresses is very special for me, it is a compilation of my feelings as a woman but also a work on the connection with the tribal, the philosophical and sacred way of living and how to connect with the spiritual life.
Last year I had the greatest benefit because I showed my work in very special places. Actually, they were the right places to exhibit this whole body of work, since I was in Qatar, Indonesia and India. It was made for that!
.
You can discover more about Marisa Caichiolo on her website : http://www.marisacaichiolo.com/index.asp
Also, you can have a look at the Gallery of this website, int the tabs on the top of the website. For any further information about the artist and the artworks, please contact me at thetagallery@gmai.com
_______________________________★_______________________________

One response to “Marisa Caichiolo – Artistic Statement

  1. Someone essentially lend a hand to make severely articles I would state.
    That is the first time I frequented your website page and to this point?
    I surprised with the analysis you made to create this particular publish amazing.
    Great process!

Leave a comment